gridprims

Electric utility · EIA utility id 18642

Tennessee Valley Authority

Ownership, as EIA reports it
Federal
States served
AL, GA, KY, MS, NC, TN
Customers in 2025
65
Sales in 2025
22,483,191 MWh
Revenue in 2025
$1,153,969,700

U.S. Energy Information Administration · Annual Electric Power Industry Report (Form EIA-861) · data for 2025 · as of Oct 7, 2026 · retrieved Oct 31, 2026 · CC-BY-4.0

What it sells and charges

Full service (energy and delivery)

Full service (energy and delivery)
SectorCustomersSales (MWh)RevenueAverage price (cents per kWh)
Commercial181,258,183$99,119,4007.88
Industrial4721,225,008$1,054,850,3004.97

Trends, 2021 to 2025

0204060 20212022202320242025 Customers Customers
From 2021 to 2025, customers went from 60 to 65.
Trend table
Trend table
YearCustomers
202160
202261
202361
202464
202565

U.S. Energy Information Administration · Annual Electric Power Industry Report (Form EIA-861), 2021 to 2025 · data for 2021-2025 · as of Oct 7, 2026 · retrieved Oct 31, 2026 · CC-BY-4.0

Annual peak demand

Not reported to FERC. Only utilities that plan or balance their own system file Form 714.

Its balancing authority, Tennessee Valley Authority, peaked at 35,430 MW in 2025. That is the balancing authority's peak, not this utility's.

Catalyst Cooperative (PUDL), from FERC Form 714 · Annual peak demand by planning area (FERC Form 714, through PUDL) · data for 2006-2025 · as of Oct 14, 2026 · retrieved Oct 31, 2026 · CC-BY-4.0

Reliability

Not reported to EIA for 2025. Small utilities are often exempt from reporting reliability.

SAIDI is the average minutes without power per customer in the year; SAIFI is how many outages the average customer had. Major event days are storms and similar rare days, counted with and without.

Generation it operates

Generation it operates
FuelCapacityNet generation in 2025
Natural gas14,802.1 MW46,547,291 MWh
Nuclear8,834.8 MW58,998,301 MWh
Hydro5,427.4 MW12,537,158 MWh
Subbituminous coal4,230.2 MW13,435,701 MWh
Bituminous coal2,900 MW9,980,739 MWh
Distillate fuel oil142.2 MW131,231 MWh
RC103,151 MWh
Wind0 MWh

This is generation the utility operates, not the full mix of power it buys. EIA does not publish that mix for each utility.

Plants it operates

Published rates

6 rates in the OpenEI database, newest updated Oct 3, 2019.

OpenEI (National Laboratory of the Rockies), with rates entered by contributors · U.S. Utility Rate Database (OpenEI) · data for 2026-10 · as of Oct 30, 2026 · retrieved Oct 31, 2026 · CC-BY-4.0

Report a problem

Tell us what looks wrong. The report holds only what you see in the preview below. Nothing is sent until you press Send.

Exactly what will be sent