Electric utility · EIA utility id 15296
New York Power Authority
- Ownership, as EIA reports it
- State
- States served
- NY
- Customers in 2025
- 927
- Sales in 2025
- 17,439,717 MWh
- Revenue in 2025
- $1,338,470,000
U.S. Energy Information Administration · Annual Electric Power Industry Report (Form EIA-861) · data for 2025 · as of Oct 7, 2026 · retrieved Oct 31, 2026 · CC-BY-4.0 May be out of date. The next release was due by Oct 7, 2027. Last checked for an update: Oct 31, 2026.
What it sells and charges
Energy only
Energy only, not your full price. Customers pay their local wires utility for delivery separately.
| Sector | Customers | Sales (MWh) | Revenue | Energy revenue per kWh (cents) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial | 373 | 7,858,864 | $696,419,000 | 8.86 |
| Industrial | 551 | 6,762,705 | $341,423,800 | 5.05 |
| Transportation | 3 | 2,818,148 | $300,627,200 | 10.67 |
Trends, 2021 to 2025
Trend table
| Year | Customers |
|---|---|
| 2021 | 852 |
| 2022 | 855 |
| 2023 | 876 |
| 2024 | 907 |
| 2025 | 927 |
U.S. Energy Information Administration · Annual Electric Power Industry Report (Form EIA-861), 2021 to 2025 · data for 2021-2025 · as of Oct 7, 2026 · retrieved Oct 31, 2026 · CC-BY-4.0 May be out of date. The next release was due by Oct 7, 2027. Last checked for an update: Oct 31, 2026.
Annual peak demand
Not reported to FERC. Only utilities that plan or balance their own system file Form 714.
Its balancing authority, New York Independent System Operator - Regulatory Affairs, peaked at 31,857 MW in 2025. That is the balancing authority's peak, not this utility's.
Catalyst Cooperative (PUDL), from FERC Form 714 · Annual peak demand by planning area (FERC Form 714, through PUDL) · data for 2006-2025 · as of Oct 14, 2026 · retrieved Oct 31, 2026 · CC-BY-4.0 May be out of date. The next release was due by Jan 14, 2027. Last checked for an update: Oct 31, 2026.
Reliability
Not reported to EIA for 2025. Small utilities are often exempt from reporting reliability.
SAIDI is the average minutes without power per customer in the year; SAIFI is how many outages the average customer had. Major event days are storms and similar rare days, counted with and without.
Generation it operates
| Fuel | Capacity | Net generation in 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Hydro | 4,660.9 MW | 20,780,068 MWh |
| Natural gas | 1,215 MW | 3,607,666 MWh |
| Batteries | 20 MW | -281 MWh |
| Distillate fuel oil | 77,445 MWh |
This is generation the utility operates, not the full mix of power it buys. EIA does not publish that mix for each utility.
Plants it operates
- Ashokan · NY · 4.6 MW
- Jarvis (Hinckley) · NY · 9 MW
- Neversink · NY · 25 MW
- Grahamsville · NY · 18 MW
- Crescent · NY · 11.6 MW
- Vischer Ferry · NY · 11.6 MW
- Blenheim Gilboa · NY · 1,000 MW
- Lewiston Niagara · NY · 240 MW
- Robert Moses Niagara · NY · 2,429.1 MW
- Robert Moses Power Dam · NY · 912 MW
- Richard M Flynn · NY · 170 MW
- Vernon Boulevard · NY · 94 MW
- Joseph J Seymour Power Project · NY · 94 MW
- Brentwood · NY · 47 MW
- Hell Gate · NY · 94 MW
- Harlem River Yard · NY · 94 MW
- North 1st · NY · 47 MW
- Pouch · NY · 47 MW
- Zeltmann · NY · 528 MW
- Willis Battery Storage · NY · 20 MW
Published rates
51 rates in the OpenEI database, newest updated Sep 25, 2017.
OpenEI (National Laboratory of the Rockies), with rates entered by contributors · U.S. Utility Rate Database (OpenEI) · data for 2026-10 · as of Oct 30, 2026 · retrieved Oct 31, 2026 · CC-BY-4.0 May be out of date. The next release was due by Nov 30, 2026. Last checked for an update: Oct 31, 2026.